A broken dove

Standard

I’m a dove who fractured her wings and could not fly. I was in pain and you became the tree that sheltered me. Gave me a home so my poor bones could heal. Protected me from the raging storms and hid me from the catastrophic winds. I took refuge in your branches and claimed you my home. You stood tall in your glory, fighting for both of us.

Time went by and my broken wings healed. You saw me as I flew away and I didn’t hear you call me back. You didn’t try to captivate me. You encouraged me to soar the skies.

I guess, because you always knew that this broken dove would come back to you. No matter, how high she flew  or how many trees she claimed as hers, there is a part of her that only you will have.

You will welcome her with open arms, no matter how much time has passed and even if she crashes down from Eden, your branches will be the only place she will first take refuge.

For that, this broken dove cannot thank you enough.

About Bano

I’m trying to find a better introduction but since, I can’t? Hi! I’m Sheher Bano Zafar and I write. I write not because there lies aspiration to be a writer someday but because, it keeps me sane. I love the color silver, black and grey. I also realize that they fall under the same color tone. Whatever, I write is a result of my 3 a.m blues or insomniac depressive tendencies. I can’t write during the day. I’m addicted to caffeine and well, anything and everything (if I like it). Also, I suck at conversations. I bite my nails. Most of the time I’m clueless about the world around me. I love politics and youth activism. People tell me that art and politics don’t belong in the same mind, but I’m passionate about both. One day I might be drawing on a canvas or writing a story and the very next day I will be heading off to attend a summit on the role of youth at the United Nations. I have multiple people trapped in the same body. Each side does try to express itself, in minimal ways if not fully. I’m currently going through a rough patch in life. I guess, I’m adjusting to the world through multiple perceptions. I absolutely love talking to myself because an expert opinion is always required. Most of the time, I just play scenarios in my mind that would never happen. I’m very contradictory in my thought process and actions but it is okay, people get to be what they want to be as long as no other soul is hurt. Peace out!

14 responses »

      • Thanks Bano. I wrote a story just now for you called ‘Bano’. I posted it. I thought it would be something nice to do for you. I hope you like it. I worked hard on it. I think you will like it.

      • Hey I posted another story I wrote for you. It’s called ‘Horror Of Bano’. I hope you like it. I worked hard on it. I had fun writing it hope it makes you feel better.

      • Thanks so much! I am very glad you enjoyed the story. I get so nervous writing about people but it’s fun and usually makes them happy. I am going to continue to write stories about you since it makes you feel good!

      • Thanks I really enjoy writing for girls like you who have Bipolar, Depression and other mental illnesses. I know how much it can help when someone is down and struggling with their mental illness. I wrote for Kathleen, Jenny, Erin, Ashley and many others. They were all girls I met on a facebook Bipolar Support Group. When I read their posts that they were having bad days that was when I wrote for them. I’ve had my share of bad days and if I can turn someone’s bad into a good day I will do it!

      • Your welcome one third done with the next story I am writing for you. I am going to go out for some breakfast then when I finish it and post it I’ll let you know so you can read it!’

      • I read the story, OMG! Such a lovely piece of prose. Thank you so much. I can’t seem to comment on it, probably because your comments are disabled but to be honest, I loved every word of it. Thank you so very much.

      • Your welcome I am glad you loved it and Thank You for your kind words. I will write you another story today. I like writing stories for people like us who have mental illness. I think it helps them feel better. I am glad you liked it the story and I’ll let you know when I got the next one done and posted.

Leave a Reply

