Hush little child

Standard

Don’t tell anyone my little doll
This is love and care for you that is all
I was ten and he was forty
He loved me in the dark ally
He loved me in my house

Don’t tell anyone my little doll
This is love and care for you that is all
Sat on his lap and had a sweet
As I did, his hands crept in between me
Terror filled my insides and my voice vanished

Don’t tell anyone my little doll
This is love and care for you that is all
I screamed in pain and cried on the floor
I begged for it to stop
Because this was not love at all

Don’t tell anyone my little doll
This is love and care for you that is all
His hands silenced my screams and wiped my tears
The little doll was ten
You don’t love a child this way, I said

Don’t tell anyone my little doll
This is love and care for you that is all
He said, you do love someone as cute as my doll
That cute button nose and big brown eyes
Demands that a doll like you should be loved so

Don’t tell anyone my little doll
This is love and care for you that is all
Don’t tell your mother or your father
Don’t tell your friends or your teacher
They would never understand the love I have for my little doll

Don’t tell anyone my little doll
This is love and care for you that is all
Enough of the love, I screamed
I have pain all over
Can’t you see me bleed?

Don’t tell anyone my little doll
This is love and care for you that is all
Whenever he came and he came an awful lot
My eyes formed instant tears and I remarked
I don’t need your love, please let me go

Don’t tell anyone my little doll
This is love and care for you that is all
My soul withered and my body ached
But more than that I felt filthy
No matter how much I bathed

Don’t tell anyone my little doll
This is love and care for you that is all
But, I couldn’t take it anymore so I told my mother
“Keep silence, my girl and don’t say a word to anyone”
I cried that day a lot and realized that rape is not to be spoken about at all

Don’t tell anyone my little doll
This is love and care for you that is all
He came again and my mother had a talk
He came once again, but didn’t love me at all
Years went by but the loving still haunts my nights

No little girl should be loved this way at all
They think I forgot but I never did
He didn’t rape his dolls body but stripped her soul instead
Do tell everyone my little doll
This is not love and care that you deserve at all.

About Bano

I’m trying to find a better introduction but since, I can’t? Hi! I’m Sheher Bano Zafar and I write. I write not because there lies aspiration to be a writer someday but because, it keeps me sane. I love the color silver, black and grey. I also realize that they fall under the same color tone. Whatever, I write is a result of my 3 a.m blues or insomniac depressive tendencies. I can’t write during the day. I’m addicted to caffeine and well, anything and everything (if I like it). Also, I suck at conversations. I bite my nails. Most of the time I’m clueless about the world around me. I love politics and youth activism. People tell me that art and politics don’t belong in the same mind, but I’m passionate about both. One day I might be drawing on a canvas or writing a story and the very next day I will be heading off to attend a summit on the role of youth at the United Nations. I have multiple people trapped in the same body. Each side does try to express itself, in minimal ways if not fully. I’m currently going through a rough patch in life. I guess, I’m adjusting to the world through multiple perceptions. I absolutely love talking to myself because an expert opinion is always required. Most of the time, I just play scenarios in my mind that would never happen. I’m very contradictory in my thought process and actions but it is okay, people get to be what they want to be as long as no other soul is hurt. Peace out!

Leave a Reply

